top of page

TaiJi 13

TaiJi 13 is a very special form to the Wudang San Feng Lineage system. The number thirteen references the combination of two very important concepts to the overall TaiJi Quan practice, 8 and 5. The number 8 occasionally refers to the Ba Gua and the philosophy integrated through this understanding. However, more directly for our practice, 8 refers to the number of techniques specifically within the form while 5 refers to the five directions. Together this equals 13 which is also the number of postures or 式. 
TaiJi 13
TaiJi 13  is a treasure of the Wudang Mountains from ancient times. Legend is it was created by Master Zhang San Feng in the Ming Dynasty. It is a practice that continues to this day because of its efficacy. The thirteen postures and patterns each have their own characteristics and techniques. Each is practiced symmetrically on either side in order to facilitate an equal well rounded practice both for the body and mind. 
The Eight Gates refer to the eight techniques found in TaiJi forms. The Five Steps refer to the five directions that techniques are achieved through. The basics of each are listed below:
The Eight Gates
Ward Off: Péng (掤)
Roll Back: Lǚ (捋)
Press: Jǐ (擠)
Push: An (按)
Grab: Cǎi (採)
Split: Liè (挒)
Elbow: Zhǒu (肘)
Bump: Kào (靠)
The Five Steps
Central Equilibrium: Zhōng Dìng (中定)
Step Forward: Jìn Bù (進步)
Step Back: Tùi Bù (退步)
Step Right: Yòu Pàn (右盼)
Step Left: Zǔo Gù (左顾)
These 8 Gates and 5 Steps combine together to create the 13 postures of TaiJi. Of course their combinations are even more varied when taken into account specific movements as applied to the manipulation of an opponent and the wealth of variety that this implies. In the Wudang San Feng Lineage, each posture of the 13 form has its own characteristics and methods to either deflect, absorb, reflect, or otherwise take advantage of offensive striking. The thirteen postures in are as follows:
1.起势 (qi shi) – Opening

2.抱球势 (bao qiu shi) – Holding the Ball

3.单推势 (dan tui shi) – Single Hand Pushing

4.探势 (tan shi) – Reaching Forward

5.托势 (tuo shi) – Lifting

6.扑势 (pu shi) – Pouncing

7.担势 (dan shi) – Carrying

8.分势 (fen shi) – Separating

9.云势 (yun shi) – Clouding

10.化势 (hua shi) – Resolving

11.双推式 (shuang tui shi) – Double Hand Pushing

12.下势 (xia shi) - Sinking

13.收势 (shou shi) - Closing
TaiJi 13 is an intermediate to advanced form taught here at WDTKA. We recommend having at least one month training time in order to complete the form. However, we occassionally have special intensive courses taught by Master Yuan for the TaiJi 13 form. These usually last 15 days and are scheduled multiple times each year. During your registration, be sure to ask about them. Also follow our social media accounts to keep updated on any news and events coming up.
bottom of page